Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 75

Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 71

Warning: Memcache::add() [memcache.add]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 65
DIRECTV Complaint - Unite Against Direct TV: Contact Attorney General's Office - Fraud/ Bait and Switch
DIRECTV Complaint

DIRECTV Complaint

ADVERTISEMENT

Unite Against Direct TV: Contact Attorney General's Office - Fraud/ Bait and Switch


These are the facts: Accepted an offer of 29.99/month for a year. They said because of my excellent credit, I could have a free DVR. In accepting the DVR, I found out after installation of their equipment, that I extended the contract for 2 years. At least that is what they claimed. Then when I convinced them I was not informed at the time of installation that DVR would extend contract 2 years they then claimed that accepting the receivers extended the contract 18 months. Yes, the receivers that one needs in order to get the satellite transmission. It is almost laughable except they continue to violate every states Fraud Laws. The best thing is to take action against this company. It takes but a few minutes to register a complaint with the Attorney General's Office. Also a class action suit in Florida netted a big fine in 2005 but evidentally they think they're bigger than laws. Your state has an obligation to protect consumers against Fraud. But we all have to do something more exercise your rights under the Fraud Acts of your state. Minnesota has strong consumer fraud dept through the Attorney General's Office


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to DIRECTV
SUBMIT a ticket
for DIRECTV
WATCH videos
for DIRECTV
More DIRECTV Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for DIRECTV

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Claim this company BUSINESSES: CLAIM YOUR BUSINESS NAME FREE
Respond to this review BUSINESSES: REPLY TO THIS CUSTOMER NOW
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


graycatlady6 says: (5 years ago)
 0
They admit to over charging me since I started with them 10 months ago - and no way to get paid back. But to cancel I OWE THEN $280 or the second call I was told I OWE THEM $220. They can't even get that rip off straight!!



Dee6060 says: (6 years ago)
 0
By the way on the movers on the directv website you click on offer and it clearly states one move in 12 month period and other qualifying criteria. If you would read you would not have a problem it is not Directvs fault you dont read all the details and email confirmation provided to you outlying all service details when you
you placed your order!!! Take accountability for your actions !!!



janelle74 says: (6 years ago)
 0
Ok... So yes I'm a single mother in school with a part-time job and minimal child support. I have had Directv for several years. Unfortunately I always put my Directv bill last but always pay it on or before the "Pay Immediately" date, but have had to let it be disconnected for never longer than 4 days maybe a week once years ago, but I always pay it, but also I have always paid the past due amount with no problems and my services restored. Well this time I let my services get disconnected because my mom died and I have to pay for everything completely by myself! I finally got back to town today went on line and paid the $144.44 (which whas the "Pay Immediately" amount) I paid but my services was not restored. I called Directv and they told me I had to pay the full amount which the other amount isn't even due yet. Customer service has always been rude and horrible (one of the reasons I never, ever call to let know I will be paying a little late). This time customer service was even worst (which I can't believe it can get any worst). I explained what happened with my mom with no sympathy or "I'm sorry for your loss"-nothing, but complete rudeness. I even took a picture of the screen to show exacty what was due right now to send to my boyfiend so he knew what I was paying-NO WHERE did it say I had to pay the amount of my next bill. Everything went from red to yellow stating my next due date. I'm pissed that my services won't be turned back on until I pay next months amount-not due yet, but I'm more upset with the customer service 1st and foremost and the straight up fact that I feel like I'm in an entrapment. I have to stay with Directv because of my contract and the fact that they won't let any other company have rights to NFL, which without NFL Sunday Ticket, I would never get to see one single game of my football team until playoffs and I'm a die hard football girl! Is there anything I can do? Sucks I don't have satilite right now but I do know that Directv is not a necessity, but getting my mom burried is that's why Directv gets paid last over all my bills, but I've got to be able to do something about the rudeness and the entrapment. Do you know how much easier and cheaper my bill would be if I could get and internet/cable bundle? This totally sucks!!!



overfuel says: (7 years ago)
 0
I went to home depot and purchased two bags of cement and spent a little over one hour driving back and forth and an hour digging a hole and cementing the Direct TV poll in the ground. After another call to have the dish setup to the correct angle, I was temporally out of service, again! Things went well for about one and one half years. The position of the dish was starting to give me new problems; the trees in my yard were getting in the way of the signal. So I called to schedule a new appointment to fix this, at this time the Direct TV service technician came out and he extended the poll three feet in the air to such a height that the wind made the dish lose its signal at the slightest breeze. All this has caused a new problem; caused by Direct TV and the improper installation right from the beginning. I was losing my signal quite often at this point again the problem with acquiring signal and losing my picture. I decided to call to have this fixed, by you, because in my mind it was your responsibility to fix this. Did you have the proper equipment? On hand to fix this? Or was it just a poor installation from the very start that none one cared to spend the time to fix? I called and a new Direct TV service technician came out to solve this old problem, when he came out he told me that I would have to go out and purchase (on my own) guide wires to hold the dish so the wind would not blow it off. Again I thought should I be the one to spend my time and money in making this happen? After all what am I paying for? This is not a cheap setup and with every new development I have to pay. And the bill keeps getting higher than I ever paid in the past. For any service!!!!

So, I went back to home depot. This time I had to spend more in getting three ground ties down steaks three steel cables 6’ each with clamps and twist tension adjustments to keep it all tight. Again I spent about three hours in making all this happen and about $50.00.

Well all this worked just fine, no thanks to you, for your help. I even readjusted the angle of the dish after I connected the wires so I would not have to wait another three days to get to use my TV that I was paying for. So, I thought, things were all fine until I received a new HD TV as a gift and decided to upgrade to HD- DVR’S... The problems started all over again. With the installation of the new HD Dish set on the old poll this did not work well for long the new dish was much bigger than the old one; this gave me a whole host of new problems that I had to deal with, mostly on my own, even though I had a service agreement with Direct TV.



overfuel says: (7 years ago)
 0
Let me start from the beginning. This is not the whole story. I have more details and proof, I do not want to give away at this time. First of all it took over two weeks to get the first installation working properly. Did I pay the whole first month of service in advance that I did not fully get? Yes I did. When I first had my dish installed the Direct TV service technician came to my house and did not lay any new wire. I switched from cable and that is what the installer used, all of the existing old cable, to connect the Direct TV Satellite to the boxes, all he did was stick the poll in the ground (he did not dig a hole) and connect the dish. And after he performed the box setup and installation he left. OK if that is how it is done, it worked and I was happy.

Three days later the wind came up and blew over the dish to the ground. My happiness was short lived! I thought to myself how does Direct TV let their Service persons do such inferior work? I called and got another service guy to come. Not the same one, I did not trust him at this point. When the new Direct TV installer showed up we went over the problem he told me that the poll should have been put in the ground more securely and if I wanted it done right, I should cement the poll for the dish in the ground, was that my responsibility? He told me that he did not have any cement with him in the truck. Should I be the one to spend my time and money in making this happen? I thought to myself. After all what am I paying for?



overfuel says: (7 years ago)
 0
And speaking of leadership I was awarded a “FREE 3 Movies” post card in the mail by the president of the company for being a “good customer” when I went to redeem it I was charged a fee for doing so, by phone. I was told that if I had done it over the internet then it would be “free” but because I spoke to a person I had to be charged. It did not say that on the post card, it said “free” which did not mean “free”. The reps I speak to on the phone do not write the correct account of what has transpired over a phone call I have had with them; they have not been totally truthful with this as well. I see it comes from the leadership down, not even the president of your company can keep his word with his customers, and again I had to pay! But after some convincing conversations I got it removed.



overfuel says: (7 years ago)
 0
On the other hand the computer generated billing calls to me from your reps has also been a sore spot with me as well. I have always paid my bill even though I did believe that you owed me more than I owed you at the time. When I did receive a call from the rep at times they had no idea (even after reading the notes) what was going on with the bill and other times I would receive a call and be given a amount from the rep, they said I owed and two days later I would get another call and I would be given a different amount by as much as one hundred dollars and one time the amount was a three hundred dollar difference, than what I was told earlier, three calls in less than a week. This is harassment. The amount was lower than the amount that I had received and I did not even make a payment!!!! How could that be? All of the reps assured me that they had the right amount. They did not. I did not like the harassing phone calls especially when I knew Direct TV did not get the bill amount correct. You insisted that I pay the wrong amount right away or my service will be interrupted. It was. You at one time disconnected my service even though you were found to be in the wrong. I proved it latter; I sent in a box with your return label and tracking number, you latter tried to collect money for it when in fact I had a signature from the receiving department at Direct TV in TN three days earlier. What a shame. If I could get the tracking number that you sent out to retrieve your equipment do you think that someone at your company could have done the same before calling me and shutting off my service? Again you were wrong, but your rep swore to me that she had the right amount and that I needed to pay it. Or loose service. Is this how the leadership in the company wants to treat “good customers”?



overfuel says: (7 years ago)
 0
Thank you for taking the time to write your statement. The same thing happened to me the bait and switch. I have contacted the O.A.G. the see if this matter can be worked out. In my case I spent over $500.00 out of pocket to set up my dish only to find out that it was not my responsibility to do so, it was theres. I was charger for an early termination fee even though I had the service over two years. In the end I spent $1,055.00 and now I have a debt collector calling three times a week for the money I do not owe them.



ARMYWIFE2008 says: (7 years ago)
 0
I agree with ALL these complaints about directtv. They are FRAUDS. My bill was due on the night of the 3rd of december. As I was up late one night, my t.v @ 2:30 am my cable shut off. They didnt give me enough chance to even call in the morning to pay my bill. Thats how they get you to pay the full amount. I want to know how my bill got aso expensive. When I joined Directtv I agreed to a year plan where my bill would be 59.00. When O called to confront them on who could they dhut me off they told me that my bill was 120.00 a month. Having 3 kids ALL on Christmas break from school I NEEDED tv. So I paid the past due balance. One the 15th they shut me off again with no notice. I called and paid another past due amount. As of 1/6/11 My cable is off AGAIN. Why????? I paid you 3 weeks ago!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And now they say in order to restore service I have to pay 219.45....THESE PPL R A RIP OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!



Grammy17 says: (7 years ago)
 0
I tried to cancel Direct TV after switching to another service (I could not stand Fairpoint, which owns it in this area, and which had a huge lawsuit going and possible bankruptcy ahead). I soon found that my account was not cancelled because my bill kept coming and increasing every month I spoke with CSR's who were never the best as they were certainly not nice, and some of them downright nasty!! I had originally written on a bill that I wanted the account canceled. When I got another bill, I called and was told "TOO BAD!! you did not telephone us!!" I said any other company required a written notice to cancel. More not nice comments from the CSR. I then proceeded to make copied of everything regarding my account and sent it along to the (NH) AG's office. Later I heard from the AG's office with a copy of the letter they had sent to Dish asking for information within 10 business days. Dish had not responded to the AG's office, but continued to bill me. I called Dish several more times, eventually got a male CSR who found that "yes, the account is still active." I told him to cancel it. He did. I still received bills, but had no more increased amounts. Did not pay. Then, my account was sold to collections. I sent them back a note which informed them the AG's office had my complaint. They threatened to take me to court. Then the collection agency sold the account to another collection agency, which told me if I believed I did not owe this amount to send anything regarding the fact. I copied everything and sent this package to the new collection agency. This included the fact that Direct TV had never responded to the (NH) AG's office. I have not had any more bills, ar any response as yet in regard to this account from wither the collection agency or Dish TV to date.
Carole Heath



1bookitty says: (8 years ago)
 0
I am a single mother and having a lot of financial difficulties. I tried to suspect my DirecTv service to avoid further charges and they refused to suspend service until my account was paid up to date. I requested that Starz be removed from my package in order to reduce my monthly fees and they refused until the past due amount is paid. I am scheduled for disconnection on 10/12 and will allow this to happen to give myself adequate time to catch up on my past due balance since they refuse to work with me.



circlei says: (8 years ago)
 0
I do not have DIRECTV. I obtained a cell phone from Verizon and put the number into the do not call list two years ago. I started receiving calls from DIRECTV even though I don't give out the number. Evidently, a former DIRECTV customer had this same number. I explained this to DIRECTV and told them they were breaking several federal laws by calling my number after I ordered them to discontinue calling. I called their customer service and went through the process again and again was promised they would cease calling. The calls continued and I explained that I am not the person that they are looking for BUT, I asked if I pay the bill even though I don't owe it, would they leave me alone. They said yes, we will take your money with the understanding that I am not the customer but I am willing to pay them to leave me alon. they then asked for my CC number! This has got to fall under RICO statutes like protection money and other federal laws. DIRECTV is that bad. They know I am not the person that owes them money but will take my money to leave me alone. Is this bad or what? Is there an attorney in the house?



adeleon56 says: (8 years ago)
 +1
Today, July 1, 2010 DIRECTV contacted my mother directly to harass her; DIRECTV told her that she is responsible for $450.00 termination fee – HER NAME IS NOT EVEN ON THE AGREEMENT. My mother is 83 years old and now with the threatening call received she is feeling confused and upset. It all started yesterday when I called DIRECTV to cancel the service that is in my name. We originally contacted DIRECTV to request a new remote control. The technician came and spoke to my 83 year old mother who does not speak English and told her he was upgrading the service for FREE. This happened in April 2010. Since I am enrolled on an Auto payment I did not realize the payment was higher until this month June 2010. Yesterday, I called DIRECTV and I was informed there is a $420 termination fee because at the time they came to change the remote control they updated the service to HD. My mother was only told that the upgrade was FREE. WE WERE NEVER INFORMED OF A NEW AGREEMENT OR ANY ADDITIONAL CHARGES. I am the one who originally contracted the service and I never signed anything or agreed to any upgrades. DIRECTV informed me that even though I did not agree I am responsible for this payment. My mother does not remember signing anything but she does remember that the technician told her that everything was FREE. I purchased the original equipment and the technician took it and left a new box and told my Mother it was FREE. I have been unemployed for almost 2 years and I am not able to continue paying the high charges from DIRECTV and now I cannot possibly pay the $420.00 termination fee. DIRECTV called my Mom and told her that if she does not pay $450.00 cancelation fee they were going to charge it to my credit/debit cards they have on record even without my authorization. I do not have any money to pay for this charge which means the bank will me $35.00 every time DIRECTV attempts to collect moneys I do not owe. How can DIRECTV obtain payment for something I never agree and I was not aware of? DIRECTV never informed me of any new agreements. Why is DIRECTV harassing 83 old women that does not even have a contract or any business directly with DIRECTV?



Teddyballgame1st says: (8 years ago)
 0
Directv told me that if a box is swapped out due to being faulty my contract would not be renewed. Low and behold, my contract was reset when the rep swapped out my box for another 24 months. I have two emails and three phone calls where I confirmed that contracts are not reset by exchanging your box when it's faulty. The rep even said it was a mistake and had notated my account with her employee id number. Directv is very deceptive and I wish I had gone with Dish network very much so now. I have the phone number for the office of the president and I will follow up with them. Goodluck to everyone else reading this!



debhart says: (8 years ago)
 0
We actually have two issues with Direct Tv. The first is the same as everyone else in that when our receiver broke they replaced it without telling us that we would be locked into another contract.
Secondly, and even worse we are being charged for porn movies that they claim were ordered when no one was home at our home except me and I did not order them. They claim they were ordered via the remote since we have no phone line connected to our receiver and never did. When they took back our old receiver we got billed for these movies that they claimed were ordered 2 years prior. How in the world would they allow customers to order movies via a remote and never bill them for these movies unless they return the receiver??? So customers can order all the movies they want via a remote and never get billed for them unless they have to return the box??? Come on.. that would never happen and it is not possible to order movies via the remote.. we tested it after being billed for these bogus charges.
There are similar claims all over the internet for this same scam by Direct Tv. I am currently looking to join a class action lawsuit against Direct TV for this.



Bootorabi says: (8 years ago)
 0
i WAS JUST TOLD BY DIRECT TVTHAT THEY PLACED US IN A CONTRACT AFTER THEY SENT A REPLACEMENT RECIEVER BECAUSE THEY CHANGED THEIR POLICY AFTER WE GOT THE RECIEVER, THE GIRL IS TELLING ME THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO, THE COMOPANY POLICY IS TO SCREW CUSTOMERS. THEY JUST TOLD ME TO HAVE MY ATTORNEY CALL THEM. IF YOU HAVE D...IRECT TV. AND CAN MOVE DO SO IF YOU DONT HAVE THEM STAY AWAY FOR YOUR SANITY.



Bootorabi says: (8 years ago)
 0
i WAS JUST TOLD BY DIRECT TVTHAT THEY PLACED US IN A CONTRACT AFTER THEY SENT A REPLACEMENT RECIEVER BECAUSE THEY CHANGED THEIR POLICY AFTER WE GOT THE RECIEVER, THE GIRL IS TELLING ME THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO, THE COMOPANY POLICY IS TO SCREW CUSTOMERS. THEY JUST TOLD ME TO HAVE MY ATTORNEY CALL THEM. IF YOU HAVE D...IRECT TV. AND CAN MOVE DO SO IF YOU DONT HAVE THEM STAY AWAY FOR YOUR SANITY.



southman says: (8 years ago)
 0
I entered into an agreement with Direct TV to provide me with a package for $60.00 a month. ^ months later I received a bill for them for an additional $150.00 for a sports package that I did not order. They said the package runs for 6 months before you get a onetime lump charge. I refused to pay for the service that I did not agree to. I fired Direct TV for the sleazy business practice and received a credit card charge for $630.00 early termination fee. Wow! What a way to do business. Do not ever give a service provider a credit card. I disputed the charge anow we will see where things go.



orthogal20 says: (8 years ago)
 0
I am filing a complaint against them after learning today that to move my service I am required to pay a $50 charge due to the fact that I am moving my service with-in the first 12 months of my contract! I asked her to find in my service agreement where it states that a fee is required let alone one upon moving service with-in that time frame and she asked me to hold. When she came back she admitted that she could not find it in my customer agreement, however, on the web-site under 'Movers Connection' where it states in bold headlinines "Moving your DIRECTV service is FREE* and easy, nationwide." Only applies to *Free to Qualifying Customers. She cannot explain why they do not list all this out in the agreements that binds you to an agreement with them. I did not even know what movers connection was, and when I signed up over the phone I explained to them I would be moving with-in the next few months and was concerned about a cost to move service (due to the dish set-up they have) and I was told it would be no problem and no cost to me when I was ready - not to wait to sign up! Can you say MISLEADING statement! I agree that most things in life are not free, however, when you ask the questions and when you verify the agreement does not state charges to move service - you tend to believe what you've been told! I am sure I am not the only customer they have tried to take advantage of. I plan to cancel the service and pay the charges - calling COMCAST as soon as I post this message! BEWARE of DIRECT TV, their dishonesty is unbelieveable!



mrnerd says: (8 years ago)
 0
DirecTv clearly doesn't care about consumers or running a responsible business. Check out their BBB rating here:
http://www.la.bbb.org/Business-Report/DirecTV-Inc-81000357

Ed O



fxrtriderman says: (8 years ago)
 0
You are right, I filed mine today with the Iowa Attorny Generals office.They took 800 from my account without athorization almost 2 months ago and so far have refused to refund it.



directTVdummy says: (8 years ago)
 0
I live in California--What is being done about DirectTV's fraud? It's all over the internet with the same problems. Increases, exted month,etc. And dealing with forigners



NYCBLUE says: (8 years ago)
 0
HELLO= MY APARTMENT WAS ROBBED RIGHT AFTER A DIRECT TV INSTALLATION. IT WAS DEFINITELY AN INSIDE JOB-SOMEONE WHO KNEW WHEN WE WOULDNT BE THERE. COINCIDENCE OR NOT?



frustrated01 says: (8 years ago)
 0
We have had similar issues with Direct TV, we were renting a receiver which broke they came out to replace it and without being told they locked us into a 24 month contract with them. Then when we moved we were told we couldn't cancel due to the 24 month contract when they replaced the broken receiver and that we had to move the boxes and stay with Direct TV, which we did because we were forced to, now they're counting a new contract from the date that we moved- even though they made us stick with them! Don't understand how they can lock customers into contracts without notifying them. Not to mention the fact that we were a customer for 8 years and now they won't let us cancel with out paying the 24 month out of contract fee. I don't understand how we're out of contract when we've been with them for 8 years. This doesn't add up. Please Please Please start contacting your BBB and they really need a class action suite against them.



rosiegirl00 says: (8 years ago)
 0
Is anyone on this site from California? I am so eager to jump in with folks on a class action lawsuit. There are so many people that are being jacked it's not funny. I can't understand how this is still continuing. I was done with my contract but still had service. I asked to send me another reciever but HD for the bedroom, I had bought a new tv. When I found out it would require another two year contract I informed them that the receiver was being returned. I stepped out for the afternoon to shop and when I got home the receiver was activated and a couple of days later a part that was needed for it to function was delivered. I never authorized ANYONE to order or do anything with my account. It is in my name only. When I called and asked why this happened the operator just kept repeating the same old script they are trained to recite. Now I am in collections for almost $400.00 and my phone is ringing off the hook all day and night from this collection agency. I can't afford an attorney. Anyone have a suggestion or know of a class action suit in progress in California? HELP!




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More DIRECTV reviews


More

Similar reviews


[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team