Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 75

Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 71

Warning: Memcache::add() [memcache.add]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 65
DIRECTV Feedback - DTV Contract Fraud - DirecTv Company itself
DIRECTV Feedback

DIRECTV Feedback

ADVERTISEMENT

DTV Contract Fraud - DirecTv Company itself


Direct TV replaced our receiver and they (honestly) did not tell us we would be agreeubg to another 2 years. We had been with them for many years and autopaid. Two week after the unit was replaced, we switched to Comcast, because of a broken satellite that defuncted HD... service man could not fix. I called DTV and then they told me I owed them something like $500 because the contract was extended when the service man replaced the receiver. We didn't sign anything and no one said anything. I wrote a letter to the company (after cancelling payment via credit card). They ignored my argument stating more or less that we would have been told about the additional 2 years. It ended by having the credit card company change my account - they kept billing me. Then the collector calls, was very rude, then says they it will be on our credit report. I said go ahead (our credit is at the top.
That was a year ago. Today I received a message from Oxford Management asking me to call... of course I am not and I don't plan to pay. What is their next step?


Share This Review:



         


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer

CONTACT THIS BUSINESS

Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to DIRECTV
SUBMIT a ticket
for DIRECTV
WATCH videos
for DIRECTV
More DIRECTV Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for DIRECTV

BUSINESSES REPLY HERE

Claim this company BUSINESSES: CLAIM YOUR BUSINESS NAME FREE
Respond to this review BUSINESSES: REPLY TO THIS CUSTOMER NOW
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation


ADVERTISEMENT


Comments


dennis49 says: (4 years ago)
 0
besides all the negative comments I would like to make one more. I was a customer for many years 10 +. Would you PLEASE tell your Advertising agent THEY SUCK BIG TIME. WHEN I am watching tv I hate to see your commercials. They are the dumbest that could ever be. I about scream and change the channel. Why don't you spend the BIG money WITHOUT BIG BUCKS of rob lowe, and so dumb and simply ad. your main points and save some money to reduce our monthly bills.AS long as you do your stupid commercials I will never come back and hate you. I HATE YOUR COMMERCIALS. SO SO DUMB and wasteful of money you bcould save to customers and to improve your imagine. I may come back ONLY IF YOU DO



demi1964 says: (7 years ago)
 0
if this is not taken care of in the next twenty four hours i will contact legal consul you are not going to screw my credit with this i am absoulty furious my fience has all the bills in his name for the past twenty years i want this taken care of NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!we have dish in our house
JUDITH BECKER



demi1964 says: (7 years ago)
 0
i have never had direct tv and they want me to pay them 176.56 I want this rediculas charge taken off i have lived were i am the address they say i supposily had there service this is bullshit and needs to be corrected NOW



jws3 says: (8 years ago)
 0
We signed up for DirecTV in 1998. They had roughly 2 million customers and were a good company then. No contracts that I remember, $29.99 for the good package. We paid $380 for a receiver and dish, and did our own install.

Over the years I’ve seen them deteriorate in every way. The equipment is complicated, customer service is terrible, and the cost has gone up to $90. Plus I can’t even sneeze next to the thing without them extending my contract.

I added an old receiver in a spare room. It was one that I had stored in my basement, and figured I’d put it in my kid’s room. BIG HUGE MISTAKE I later found out!!

I hooked up an over-the-air antenna and quickly realized I could get 95% of what I watch (local television), for free, and in HD.

So I bought a DVR and canceled DirecTV. Figured it would be OK, since my last new receiver was over 2 years old. Well, they charged me $420 early termination on the 2nd receiver. Then immediately charged my credit card. Unknown to me, my contract was renewed on that old spare reciever, even though the CSR specifically told me there was NO contract on this receiver when I added it in September 2010 since it was owned.

I spoke with 5 CSRs before I actually gone one of them who understood that I shouldn’t be under contract. She put a credit on my account. But that takes 8 weeks to be refunded. So they’re holding on to MY money for 2 months!

I hate this company and would suggest nobody subscribe to them if don’t want to be shoved around by corporate bullying.



senor says: (9 years ago)
 0
I wish if mor customers would follow yuur step. This is true of direct tv



LChenault says: (9 years ago)
 0
I have encountered the same dilemma with Directv. I contracted service and moved after a year. I was still bound to another year of service contractually, so I transferred service. At that time, they insisted I had to agree to another two years because I was a faithful customer. With this, I was told I would receive 3 months of all the movie channels for free. The first installer halfway did the job when installing the new dish, which allowed it to move out of signal range whenever the wind blew. For about two weeks, while we waited for the new technician to rectify the problem, we had to manipulate ropes that we tied to the dish to keep it in place in order to maintain a signal.

I did not dispute paying those two weeks with Directv, however when my first bill arrived, it was loaded with charges totalling over $200. I called to find out why the charges were so high and was told by a CSR that they had failed to apply our free movie channel credits and had billed us twice for the same month. She reduced the bill to the approximately $80 it was supposed to be. At this time, she gave me a year of free movie channels and the HD package for the inconvenience.

However, my next bill arrived with the $44 for all movie channels charged again. I once again called and had the credit placed on my account. Mind you, this is still during my "free" three month period which was supposed to be an incentive program for transferring service.

For more than eight months, these charges showed up on the bill and required me calling customer service to receive what I was promised. I repeatedly asked for the resolution in writing, but was told it is against company policy. The only assurance I have is that the employees I spoke with were "making notes on my account", though every time I call these notes are never present on my account. After six months, I gave up spending more than an hour disputing my bill with their CSR because it was more hassle than it was worth. I believe that is what they count on doing to each customer in an effort to get more money from them.

In July, my entire work team was laid off from our government jobs. I got a little behind in my bills and come August 21, I received a call stating I was scheduled for disconnect on August 22. I spoke with a rep who told me he was retroactively going back through my bills and taking off the charges. A minimum of $88 (2 months of movie channels) was paid by me when I did not have the time to spend getting Directv to uphold their promises. He put me on hold for more than 40 minutes to go through my account. When he returned, my bill went from $268 to $174.48. He extended my cut-off to the next day in case I failed to make the payment. I paid it the next day and monitored my account online through September 6. On September 7, my new bill was scheduled to be mailed. My account still showed a $0.00 balance as of August 6. However, on September 15, I received a call stating I was scheduled for a disconnect on September 16, less than three weeks from the time my account was cleared of all charges.

I spent more than 2 hours on the phone with their Billing and CS departments. When I finally was passed off to a supervisor, Aaron (no employee ID), he told me that though the previous CSR told me he credited me back all the overcharges, I must have misunderstood him because he didn't credit anything except $27 back to my account, which brought my total to $240, rather than $174. I asked him why I was told I was paid up and now told I owe $56 immediately and another $140 for my bill (more than $60 more than my monthly bill is supposed to be). He said the most he could do for me is to extend my payment due date by a week. He accused me of lying about the credits I was promised.

From the time of August 22 to the new billing date of September 6, they told me I had to pay partial monthly payments because, though he never disconnected my account, their computers showed it was disconnected and therefore the credits he gave me were for the period of 8-22 to 9-5, which was reimbursed because I paid it on 8-22 but had been disconnected. Therefore, the reimbursements he told me were for overcharges were, according to the supervisor, for the two week period before my September bill.

The key factor was the HD package given to me in February for a year. I am still receiving this credit, however the supervisor said it wasn't proof enough that they promised me a year of movie channels. When I asked him why he thought they always reimbursed me for it when I called, his response was that I need to just make sure I pay my bills on time to avoid future issues.

At this point, my family and I are relocating again. I informed them yesterday when I spoke with them, but they didn't care I was threatening to sue them for fraud and insisting I will be selecting another company for future service. Instead, I was told I will owe more than $300 for breaching my contract. I feel they continually breached our contract. What legal recourse do I have here?



dtvinstlr says: (9 years ago)
 0
"ask them for the signed contract" Most r never turned in by local HSP...Mastec



gfgriepp says: (9 years ago)
 0
30 Months of Fraudulent Billing!
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 10:50 a.m.

Called and spoke to David (U2631) at DIRECTV he informed me Amanda would return my call within 2 hours.
Amanda (R9631) at DIRECTV called offered me 60 days credit I politely refused and again informed that I would be suing in small claims court and filing criminal charges for unauthorized use of a credit card. Amanda kept telling me that DIRECTV had spoken with me and I had not called DIRECTV to confirm the disconnect and that DIRECTV had billed me for approximately 30 months before I noticed. I stressed to Amanda that I had never been contacted by DIRECTV after my initial E-mail in July, 2006 and that I had never spoken to DIRECTV about this account until February 24, 2009 when I discovered the fraudulent billing.

DIRECTVs position appears to be that I did not catch DIRECTV soon enough so DIRECTV intends to keep most of the funds that DIRECTV fraudulently removed from my bank account and that I did not catch DIRECTV quickly enough. The approximately $100 credit DIRECTV offered does not equal the approximately $1600 dollars DIRECTV obtained fraudulently.



gfgriepp says: (9 years ago)
 0
30 Months of Fraudulent Billing!
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 10:50 a.m.

Called and spoke to David (U2631) at DIRECTV he informed me Amanda would return my call within 2 hours.
Amanda (R9631) at DIRECTV called offered me 60 days credit I politely refused and again informed that I would be suing in small claims court and filing criminal charges for unauthorized use of a credit card. Amanda kept telling me that DIRECTV had spoken with me and I had not called DIRECTV to confirm the disconnect and that DIRECTV had billed me for approximately 30 months before I noticed. I stressed to Amanda that I had never been contacted by DIRECTV after my initial E-mail in July, 2006 and that I had never spoken to DIRECTV about this account until February 24, 2009 when I discovered the fraudulent billing.

DIRECTVs position appears to be that I did not catch DIRECTV soon enough so DIRECTV intends to keep most of the funds that DIRECTV fraudulently removed from my bank account and that I did not catch DIRECTV quickly enough. The approximately $100 credit DIRECTV offered does not equal the approximately $1600 dollars DIRECTV obtained fraudulently.



Naive says: (9 years ago)
 0
They pretty much do the same thing to me! Now because of the money that I am not responsible for, my credit goes so down that I cannot get a loan for my dream house!!!!!!!!!!! They should pay for what a careless business that they are doing. Is there any way, like we can get together and bring them to court?
please reply me @ thuan_ha05@yahoo.com.

Thanks.



cjvines says: (9 years ago)
 0
I cannot believe what I have read about Direct TV and how I am going through the same fraudulent actions.
Direct TV continually bills the wrong amount and then promises to
credit my account and never does so!

How can they be stopped!



THughes says: (9 years ago)
 0
Here’s Our Complaint regarding DirecTV Sales and Contract Fraud..

DATE: 3/14/2009

REGARDING: DirecTV’s Fraudulent Practices Against Trisha & Harry Hughes New Mexico 2008 Negating any and All Contract Provisions between the Parties.

We were DirecTV Customers while living in Fort Collins, CO for approximately one year. Then we sold our home moved to a Fort Collins RV park and changed to a mobile DirecTV system around June 2008, which we then moved in late September 2008 to New Mexico.

Around 9/29/2008 after we had set up our RV on our New Mexico property we called DirecTV to request a reinstall since we were having problems locating the satellite for our system to operate. However, before that installation was to be performed, my husband was able to locate the satellite so we called and cancelled the installation service advising DirecTV that we did not need it any longer, our system was now working fine without any help from them. Sometime later I was looking at my account on the DirecTV Website and noticed that they showed a balance due of $211.69. We called to ask what the extra charges were for since our only service was Choice Extra Package, HBO and HD Service which had been running us about $75 per month. It seems they advised us they had charged us for the reinstallation although we had called well in advance and cancelled that service. Eventually after several phone calls to get the charge removed it was removed, but it was a difficult task and repeated calls to get the unwarranted charges removed. This also cost us repeated calls on our cell phones since we had no phone landline yet on our property.

On one of our follow up calls getting this incorrect service charge (an installation not performed) removed from our account, we had a sales associate who we were talking to offer a “special moving package deal” to us over the phone. He advised us that for only $3.99 per month, since we had just moved our service, we could get NFL Sunday Ticket and also the Premier Movie Channels Packages though the football season all for that one low monthly price. Also he advised us that we could cancel at any time should we decide we did not want the service. We do not watch football but thought that the movie channels for that span of time would be a nice addition to our programming choices so we agreed to the offer over the phone.

Then when reviewing my account online again around 10/15/2008, after this phone offer and acceptance, I noticed that my online account balance was $266.78. I was dumbfounded. I called DirecTV and spoke for about an hour (again) with an agent. That agent attempted to explain to me that I have a $74.99 charge for NFL Sunday Ticket, then another charge of $57.99 for NFL Sunday Ticket, then another charge for $83.99 for Premium Movie Package for a total of $216.97 per my figures. I had spoke with the agent and they referred my complaint and demand to cancel the NFL Sunday and Movie Channels to the Resolution Team and that in about a week or less I would see on my account the credit for the cancellation of services. Well, this was just the beginning of months of calls attempting to straighten out the services that were FRAUDENTLY SOLD TO US AND THEN INVOICED BY DIRECTV, during the months and ongoing call campaign to get this off my account I paid well over $100 dollars in excess fees in an attempt to keep my credit record straight. Along with calls made by my husband and I to DirecTV over the next months, October, November nearly every 5 days, week after week, constantly speaking with agents from 30 minutes to over an hour for each call.
Only our anger and persistence finally resulted in the charges for the services that were fraudulently sold to us being credited this costing me also additional excess fees which I paid just to try to get the bill paid off. This also cost us again hours and hours of repeated calls on our cell phones since we had no phone landline yet on our property. I have notes documenting calls that should show our account to be the trial that it was for us over this time and I am aware that the agents we spoke with supposedly repeatedly noted comments on our account every time we called, at least the agents would say they were doing so.

As an aside, at one point I was speaking with an insurance agent in another state that I was dealing with for some quotes, and she told me of her like-kind nightmare experience with DirecTV and that it took months and extra payment of funds not really due to get their account straightened out. She advised me that she and her husband had reported DirecTV to the Better Business Bureau for their corrupt practices in that state.

My husband and I decided on 2/17/2009 to cancel the service as we finally had our invoices from them completely settled and cleared up of excess charges as evidenced by our January and February invoices. Suddenly now they told us we could not cancel that we were not allowed to and that they would hit us with a huge $320 cancellation charge if we dared do so. We will now contest the cancellation charges that are being imposed on us by DirecTV as they at no point advised us that there was now suddenly being imposed on us a cancellation charge when we moved our service to New Mexico and at NO TIME did we establish a contract with them till 2010 and we feel that when they broke our contract by allowing their call center agents to defraud us and in addition to that refused to correct the fraudulent billing until we advised them that we would be turning them into the Attorney General of New Mexico and the Better Business Bureau along with canceling our service.

This letter is being copied to the New Mexico Attorney General and the Better Business Bureau. We demand that the charges being levied by DirecTV for canceling our service be removed from our account that is now closed.

If these cancellation charges are not immediately removed and a zero balance invoice as evidence be provided to us we will file a lawsuit against DirecTV for Fraud and Deceptive Practices in New Mexico requesting also in addition to the dismissal of the fees a penalty be levied against DirecTV for the anguish and harassment that this company has caused us to date.

Also, although I returned the receiver to DirecTV in the box provided to them, and I have the confirmation of the send, they are now also billing me for that same receiver.

This Company needs to be held accountable for its actions.

Harry & Trisha Hughes




login with Facebook and share your reviews

More DIRECTV reviews


Similar reviews


[Top]

Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
Thanks,
The MeasuredUp Team